Our approach and the proposed program

Philosophy & Pedagogy Registration

PhilosopHy & pedagogY

The educational ideals of La Maison Montessori Kingston are based on the principle of quality education for all. With this philosophy in mind, La Maison Montessori Kingston allows the child to develop at his own pace while giving him the opportunity to grow in an atmosphere conducive to his development.

The montessori pedagogy

We are committed to following the pedagogical approaches developed by Dr. Maria Montessori – Italy’s first female physician and the founder of the Montessori school model. Her educational approach is based on the observation of children and on the development of specific material adapted to each child’s age and abilities.

At La Maison Montessori Kingston children will learn, apply their knowledge and participate actively in the daily aspects of school and home life. Based on the famous Montessori quote, “Help me to do it by myself” children learn the various psychological and developmental stages inherent to their age:

  • Autonomy
  • Adaptation to his/her environment
  • Ecological consciousness
  • Self respect

“Our school is a ‘Children’s house’ rather than a traditional school, that has been specially prepared for the child, where he or she is exposed to the culture of this environment, where learning is self-directed.” Maria Montessori

AGE GROUPS

Maria Montessori observed that young children, from 0 to 6 years of age, possess a unique mind with great intellectual capacity that allows the child to adapt to differing cultural, geographic and temporal environments. This “absorbent mind,” as Montessori describes it, instills the child with passion and the desire to seek out those experiences that will make him or her truly human.

At La Maison Montessori Kingston, we offer two learning environments for your child.

Toddlers (18 month to 3 years old)

Maria Montessori observed that young children, from 0 to 6 years of age, possess a unique mind with great intellectual capacity that allows the child to adapt to differing cultural, geographic and temporal environments. This “absorbent mind,” as Montessori describes it, instills the child with passion and the desire to seek out those experiences that will make him or her truly human.

At La Maison Montessori Kingston, we offer two learning environments for your child.

«The first instinct of the child is to act only, without the help of others, and their first act of independence is to defend themselves from those who try to help them. He or she always tries to make a bigger effort to act by him or herself.» Maria Montessori

Preschoolers

(3 years old – 6 years old)

In this group of 24, the children are between 3 and 6 years of age and are supervised by two educators and an assistant. At this stage of their development, your child is going to internalize all the rules of his or her environment (e.g. language, culture, code). The objective of the children’s house is to allow your child to perfect his or her fine and global psychomotricity, social sense of self and the building of his or her intelligence.

«One of the main practices of our method is the use of sensory exercises that develop your child’s sensory awareness in order to appreciate the world around them.» Maria Montessori

MONTESSORI ACTIVITIES

La Maison Montessori Kingston is a rich and inviting environment where adults act as catalysts to engage the children in self-directed activities. There are five main activity areas in the school that children may choose from.

Mathematics

Math concepts are first introduced as a sensorial experience and built up to abstraction. We give quantities and allow the child to manipulate them concretely. The child then has extensive experience in using the four mathematical operations of addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division.

Language

La Maison Montessori Kingston offers the chance for children to acquire, to consolidate and to be immersed in a French-speaking environment, even if it is not the child’s first language. A child’s capacity to learn a second language develops much more spontaneously during their early formative years. The child is given the opportunity to use French in new ways (song, poem, and conversation with peers). It is also through a rich and varied vocabulary that the child grows. The child acquires the alphabet in a sensorial manner; communication is one of the key components to social development.

Practical life

The exercises of Practical Life are the distillation of typical, universal human activity. The child learns how to take care of himself or herself, how to take care of his or her house, and learn the care of others.

Culture

This includes all those pursuits of humanity that are not included in Mathematics and Language: geography, history, science, religion, music, art and biology to name a few. La Maison Montessori Kingston reflects the European influence of its creators and so the creation of art is deeply encouraged using thematic approaches inspired by artists. Using the works of renowned artists for inspiration, the child creates works of art using themes such as spirals, circles and points.

Sensorial

It is through the senses that the young child comes to know himself and his world. The sensorial area allows the child to explore, classify, order, grade, and discriminate the sensorial concepts in the world.

Students since 2008

passionat teacher

years already

Contact us

Location : 1134 Johnson St.
Kingston, ON, K7M 2N7
Telephone: (613) 548-4138

Email: info@montessorikingston.ca

Opening hours:  From Monday to Friday, 8am to 5pm

 

PHILOSOPHY AND PEDAGOGY

At La Maison Montessori Kingston children will learn, apply their knowledge and participate actively in the daily aspects of school and home life. Bases on the famous Montessori quote,  ” Help me to do it by myself ” children learn the various psychological and developmental stages inherent to their age:

  • Autonomy
  • Adaptation to his/her environment
  • Self respect
  • Ecological consciousness

READ MORE…

Notre approche et le programme proposé

Philosophie & Programme Inscriptions

La pédagogie Montessori

L’approche fut créée par la Docteur Maria Montessori, première femme médecin d’Italie, au XIXème siècle. Sa pédagogie est basée sur l’observation des enfants et le développement d’un matériel spécifique adapté aux besoins de chaque âge.

La Maison Montessori Kingston, permet à l’enfant d’apprendre, de mettre en pratique ses connaissances et de participer activement aux aspects quotidiens de la vie à l’école comme à la maison. Fondée sur la célèbre phrase Montessorienne: « Aide-moi à faire par moi-même », les enfants apprennent dans l’ambiance Montessori les différents stades du développement psychologique inhérents à leur âge:

  • L’autonomie
  • L’adaptation aux différents environnements
  • L’estime de soi
  • La conscience écologique

“Notre école est une « Maison des Enfants » plutôt qu’une véritable école, c’est-à-dire un lieu spécialement préparé pour l’enfant, dans lequel il assimile la culture diffuse de cette ambiance, sans qu’il soit besoin d’un enseignement.” Maria Montessori

Philosophie et pédagogie

 La Maison Montessori Kingston est porteuse d’idéaux éducatifs basés sur l’éducation de qualité pour tous. L’école francophone, La Maison Montessori Kingston permet à l’enfant de se développer à son rythme tout en lui donnant l’opportunité de grandir dans une atmosphère propice à son épanouissement.

TRANCHES D’ÂGES

Maria Montessori, fondatrice de la pédagogie Montessori, a observé que les enfants âgés de 0 à 6 ans possèdent de grandes capacités intellectuelles qui leur permettent de s’adapter à différents environnements culturels, géographiques et spatio-temporels. Elle a nommé ce don de l’enfance, l’esprit absorbant. L’enfant va donc se construire et fonder sa personnalité en absorbant sa culture environnante et en effectuant des recherches conscientes.

À La Maison Montessori Kingston, deux groupes sont offerts, selon l’âge de votre enfant.

« Les plus grands deviennent des héros et des maîtres, et les petits sont leurs admirateurs : ils regardent les grands pour avoir une inspiration, et puis ils travaillent pour leur propre compte.» Maria Montessori

Les bambins (18 mois – 3 ans)

Cet environnement accueille un groupe de 10 enfants, âgés entre 18 mois et 3 ans, à plein temps ou à temps partiel, encadrés par un(e) éducateur(trice) et une assistante. Il s’agit souvent du premier lieu de socialisation pour votre enfant. Il va apprendre à tout faire seul grâce aux divers exercices de vie pratique. Il va aussi raffiner son développement sensoriel par les observations, les manipulations, les expériences que son environnement lui permettra de réaliser. Dans cette ambiance, nous encourageons votre enfant à agir par lui-même et pour lui-même.

«Le premier instinct de l’enfant est d’agir seul, sans l’aide d’autrui, et son premier acte d’indépendance est de se faire se défendre de ceux qui essaient de l’aider. Il cherche toujours à faire un effort plus grand pour agir par lui-même.» Maria Montessori

Les préscolaires (3 ans – 6 ans)

Dans ce groupe de 22, les enfants ont entre 3 ans et 6 ans et sont encadrés par un éducateur, une éducatrice et une assistante. À ce stade de son développement, votre enfant va intérioriser l’ensemble des règles de son milieu (langage, culture, code). L’objectif de la maison des enfants est de permettre à votre enfant de perfectionner sa psychomotricité fine et globale, son sens social et la construction de son intelligence.

«Une des principales pratiques de notre méthode est a été de faire pénétrer l’éducation musculaire dans la vie même des enfants, en la reliant à la vie quotidienne.» Maria Montessori

ACTIVITÉS MONTESSORI

À La Maison Montessori Kingston, chaque adulte est un vecteur qui permet à l’enfant de s’auto-construire. Dans cet environnement, l’enfant a le choix entre cinq grandes matières qui lui permettent d’atteindre des buts spécifiques.

Les mathématiques

Le concept des mathématiques repose sur les premières expériences sensorielles qui visent à bâtir l’abstraction. Nous proposons aux enfants du matériel basé sur les quantités. Nous leur permettons donc de le manipuler concrètement en utilisant les quatre opérations mathématiques suivantes : l’addition, la soustraction, la multiplication et la division.

Le langage

La Maison Montessori Kingston offre la possibilité à l’enfant d’acquérir et de consolider la langue française, et ce, même si ce n’est pas sa langue maternelle, car il va être plongé dans cet environnement.  En effet, la capacité d’un enfant à apprendre une seconde langue se fait de manière beaucoup plus spontanée durant les premières années de sa vie. On donne aux enfants l’opportunité d’utiliser la langue française au travers de nouvelles voies (chansons, poèmes et dans les conversations avec ses pairs). L’enfant évolue grâce à un vocabulaire riche et varié tout en recevant l’alphabet de façon sensorielle. La communication est d’ailleurs une clé importante de la vie en société. Lors d’événements, comme certaines animations culturelles, la langue anglaise sera aussi utilisée.

La vie pratique

Des activités de la vie courante sont proposées à l’enfant. C’est ainsi que chacun apprend à se prendre en charge, à prendre soin des autres et de son environnement.

La culture

Cela inclut les sujets qui ont trait à l’humanité et qui n’ont pas été susmentionnés: la géographie, l’histoire, la science, la religion, la musique, la danse, la biologie et l’art, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. La Maison Montessori Kingston est porteuse de l’influence européenne de ses initiateurs. L’aspect artistique est vivement encouragé par des approches thématiques inspirées d’artistes. De cette inspiration artistique, l’enfant crée des œuvres avec des spirales, des cercles et des points: de véritables chefs-d’œuvre.

Le sensoriel

C’est grâce à ses sens que l’enfant va découvrir le monde. Cette aptitude permet à l’enfant d’explorer, d’ordonner, de classer et de différencier les concepts qui l’entourent.

élèves depuis la fondation

Professionnels passionnés

Années d'existence

Nous contacter

Emplacement: 1134 Johnson St.
Kingston, ON, K7M 2N7
Téléphone: (613) 548-4138

Courriel: info@montessorikingston.ca

Heures d'ouvertures: Du lundi au vendredi de 8h à 17h

Philosophie et pédagogie

La Maison Montessori Kingston, permet à l’enfant d’apprendre, de mettre en pratique ses connaissances et de participer activement aux aspects quotidiens de la vie à l’école comme à la maison. Fondée sur la célèbre phrase Montessorienne: « Aide-moi à faire par moi-même », les enfants apprennent dans l’ambiance Montessori les différents stades du développement psychologique inhérents à leur âge:

  • L’autonomie
  • L’adaptation aux différents environnements
  • L’estime de soi
  • La conscience écologique
    En apprendre davantage